Shortbread…it’s still a thing!

shortbread

I can’t remember the last time I made shortbread and I don’t know why I don’t more often.  It’s buttery and delicious and super easy to make.  Seriously, give this a try.  The recipe I chose this week was White Chocolate Peanut Butter Shortbread Magic Bars.  Again with the overly long name.  I think “magic bars” could be left off but that’s just me.

The recipe is very easy to follow and I didn’t run off and do my thing with this one. Except the recipe said to bake for 40 to 45 min but mine was done in 30.  So let that be a little lesson, keep an eye on your baked goods all ovens run a little different.  And my oven is a special little flower that needs a lot of attention and a good oven thermometer.

The thing that bugs me sometimes with recipes is the measuring of chocolate chips.  Do any of you actually measure them out cause I don’t.  I just eyeball it.  With the shortbread I used about a half of bag of mini chips and for me that was plenty.  I think if you get too many in there you might as well just use regular size chips.

The pouring of the sweetened condensed milk on top of the dough before cooking was a new thing for me.  I honestly wasn’t sure if that was going to work or not.  I like to rotate my pans half way through cooking and when I went to turn the pan the milk had kind of pooled and was even runnier than when I started so I was a little concerned.  But fear not by the time it was done cooking the milk had set and caramalized on top making it a little sticky and gooey.  Yum.

After it cooled I frosted it with peanut butter and did my whole Jackson Pollock thing on top with melted white chocolate.  The only thing that was missing was a big glass of milk. Seriously, we were out of milk…I don’t even know how that happens.  But I give this recipe a big thumbs up and highly recommend it.

shortbread2
Yep, I cut them into squares even though the recipe says “bars”.  I’m a rebel!

 

Leave a Reply

