If there’s fruit in the cake it counts as Breakfast Food!

strawberry cake1

My sweet treat this week was a very delicious Strawberry Yogurt Cake.  And since it contained fresh fruit and yogurt I declare it both good for you and breakfast food!!

This is a really yummy cake and I highly recommend this recipe.  It was pretty simple recipe and I only made one little change to it.  This was the first time I’ve used a recipe that had me zest a lemon into the flour mixture first instead of the butter/sugar mixture.  I was a little apprehensive of that but it really did help the zest be distributed throughout the cake and it seemed like the flavor of the lemon was much more prominent.  I think it may be because mixing it with the butter and sugar may beat it too much that it loses some of its zip.  I’m going to have to try this with other cakes to see if it’s true. Yep, make more experimental cakes to test this theory…oh the things I do to help society make better desserts. I really do deserve a medal or maybe a crown. I love crowns!  But we’re getting away from the point here. What I wanted to point out is that fresh lemon flavor with the strawberries just made the cake for me.

Now for the strawberries, the recipe called for 12 ounces of diced strawberries.  I can never figure out sometime if they mean 12 ounces of whole strawberries or 12 ounces of diced strawberries.  Because we’re talking about 2 very different things there.  I used a 1lb container of strawberries and I sliced them instead of dicing them.  I thought that dicing them would make them a little mushy after cooking and I would rather have large pieces of strawberry.  I’m glad I made that decision.  The only thing I would change for next time is I would have saved a handful of the slices to sprinkle on top of the batter once I got it into the pan.  Even though they didn’t all sick to the bottom I didn’t think they were very evenly distributed towards the top of the cake. And then of course I made your standard powdered sugar glaze for the top.

strawberry cake

But overall I would give this recipe a big A+.  It’s a great cake for social gatherings like breakfast, brunch or just to have friends over for afternoon tea and cake (which we don’t do enough of that)  It’s not overly sweet and the strawberries and lemon give it a great zip.  In fact, I’m going to go cut myself a nice big slice of this right now!

Leave a Reply

