A Classic This Weekend

choco pie1

There’s a reason why some things are labeled as “classic” and in dessert making a chess pie is one of those classic pies.  I’ve been asked and I have also asked people why it’s called “chess” pie and I still haven’t been able to figure it out.  The closest thing I’ve come to getting an answer is that in England something similar was referred to as a cheese pie and American’s messed up the name and called it chess.  I don’t know if that’s right or not and if you know I would love an answer on that.  Also, another mystery of the chess pie is whether it is a classic southern recipe as a cousin to the pecan pie or a New England recipe.  Being from the South I think all yummy things started there so I’m going to declare it as Southern!

Now this weekend I made a Chocolate Chess Pie which I have to admit I’ve never made before.  And now I’m kicking myself for not making one sooner.  This recipe was simple and made one damn tasty pie.  The next time I have to bring a pie to something this one will be at the top of the list.

choco pie

I didn’t stray from the recipe one bit and I suggest you don’t either.  I know some people might be tempted to add nuts or cookie pieces to this and while I’ll admit that that would probably be tasty try it this way to begin with. I served it at room temperature with a little whip cream and it was smooth and fudgy and really delicious. My favorite part is the very top layer that just gives the pie a little crunch on the top.  I had to stop myself from cutting another slice immediately.

So, if you’re looking for a simple and delicious dessert I highly recommend this one.  You probably have most of the ingredients in your kitchen right now!  So…go…go make one now!

Leave a Reply

