My Cheesecake Game Is STRONG!

butterfinger2

Peanut Butter Butterfinger Cheesecake…go ahead and savor those words a little bit!  I love making cheesecakes.  I think I have a pretty solid handle on them and 9 times out of 10 can get them to come out beautifully. For that 10th time, I’m going to blame my oven for any less than stellar cheesecakes.  You try baking in an oven that doesn’t have any temperatures on the knob. (Ah, the thrills of apartment rental living)

But this week I made, what I have to say, is probably one of the tastiest cheesecakes ever. Butterfinger would have to be in my top 5 favorite candy bars and so you add that to cheesecake and I’m sold!  The recipe is a pretty standard peanut butter cheesecake with crushed Butterfingers added to it.  The recipe recommends adding sour cream or yogurt to the base.  I used sour cream, I like the little extra tang it gives to the mix.  The biggest change I made to the recipe was with the crust.  The recipe advised doing an Oreo crust but I thought it might be a little overwhelming for the cheesecake.  Plus, sometimes I find Oreo crusts to be a little oily due to the cream in the cookies.  This could just be me. So instead I made a traditional graham cracker crust.  I thought the graham cracker crust gave it a good balance and helped put a little salty factor in the cheesecake. I also added the recommended peanut butter drizzle on top and yep it was super yummy.  Although, as my friends and I were enjoying the hell out of this we all thought it could use a drizzle of chocolate as well.  Next time I make this…that is so happening!butterfinger

When I started slicing it I could see immediately that this is a super dense cheesecake that needs to be cut in smaller slices.  When you put a slice on a plate and the plate dips…you know the piece is too big.  So, start small on this one.  Also, I served it with some whip cream but I think vanilla ice cream would also be amazing with this.  And if you’ve never tried ice cream with cheesecake, you don’t know what you’re missing!  Try it…trust me

So, in the end, Peanut Butter Butterfinger Cheesecake should be made and shared with friends.  And eaten in the middle of the night while watching the Olympics.  Or maybe that’s something only I do.  Either way, this is delicious and you should give it a try.

Leave a Reply

