My Strong Cheesecake Game Continues!

I know I probably shouldn’t have made back to back cheesecakes but I needed something to take to brunch on Sunday and well this has orange in it and you have orange juice for brunch so this is good for brunch.  Or at least that’s what my brain said late at night when I was deciding on this.  I’m not on trial here!

So anyway here you have the very delicious Chocolate Orange Cheesecake! Now I will say I’m not a huge fan of the chocolate and orange combination but as a cheesecake lover I was willing to give this a chance and I’m so glad I did.  This is a beautiful and delicious cheesecake, that was fairly simple to make.

And yes of course, I made a few changes to recipe but I’m sure the original recipe would also be just as good.  First, I didn’t use orange extract.  I’m not a big fan of this extract as I find it can be a little over powering and I wanted a good hint of orange not have it take over the whole cheesecake.  So instead I used the zest of 2 oranges and the juice of one. Secondly, the recipe said to use the extract before separating the mixture to make the chocolate layer but I didn’t add the orange zest or juice until after I removed part of the batter.  I wanted the chocolate layer to be pure chocolate.

The thing I liked best about this recipe (and I’m kind of kicking myself for not thinking of this) is that it recommended freezing the chocolate layer for 15 minutes so it would be easier to smooth out the top layer.  And in the heat I’m dealing with in my kitchen right now that piece of advice was a Godsend! I will be doing that with all of my layered cheesecakes from now on.

orange chocolate2

This was a delicious cheesecake and my friends really enjoyed it and that always makes me happy. The end result was one of the creamiest cheesecakes I’ve ever made and the chocolate and orange combination worked beautifully together.  The only drawback and this has nothing to do with the recipe is that the weather did make the cheesecake go soft a bit but once it was back in the fridge it firmed right back up.  So, maybe I need to lay off the cheesecakes until the weather cools a bit.  Stupid Heat Wave!!!

Leave a Reply

