Lots of Berries!

berry-bars

This week I made Blackberry Pie Bars. Well, to be honest I actually made Triple Berry Pie Bars cause the frozen triple berry mix was on sale and raspberries, blueberries and blackberries are all delicious and I’m cheap so it makes for a good combination.  And as it turns out it doesn’t hurt the recipe one bit to change-up the berries a bit. I’m actually glad I did cause this thing has a very thick filling and I think just having blackberries would have been a bit too much for me.  I like the contrast that using multiple berries give it.

This is a pretty simple recipe and if making homemade berry pies scares you some I think you should give this a try since you don’t have to roll out a traditional pie crust.  You just have to press this into the pan. Although a helpful hint from me here, whenever I do a crust like this I always freeze my butter for several hours first.  It helps make it easier to cut the butter into the other ingredients and if you work quickly the butter won’t have time to melt.

The filling I found to be very interesting and tasty!  It’s not a traditional berry pie filling.  It has the addition of eggs and sour cream and I think it gives it a great richness and keeps the berries from being to sour.  Sometimes when you’re making a berry pie it’s hard to know if you’re adding too much or not enough sugar to the berries.  This addition of sour cream made the filling creamy and just rounded out everything nicely. The recipe said to bake for 50 min but I had to add another 15 to that. But all ovens are different so just keep an eye on it.

berry-bars-1

In the end I would highly recommend this recipe, it’s delicious.  I cooled mine and then let it sit in the fridge over night so it would set up well.  There’s nothing worse than cutting into a berry pie that hasn’t rested and the filling just runs all over the place. When I pulled it out this morning it sliced really well and then I just popped a piece in the microwave for about 30 seconds, topped it with vanilla bean ice cream and had the breakfast of champions!  That’s right, pie bars and ice cream for breakfast…I’m hitting the proper food groups there…berries and milk!  I’m not on trial here!!!!!

Leave a Reply

